Paul Bernays Award

Starting in 2011, the Swiss Society for Logic and Philosophy of Science (SSLPS) awards each year the Paul Bernays Award to a young researcher for an outstanding contribution in the area of logic and philosophy of science. The award is sponsored by Altonaer Stiftung für philosophische Grundlagenforschung.

The work of the nominees must be documented by a thesis (e.g. Master or PhD thesis), a paper or a series of papers, and must have been carried out in large part at a Swiss institution; only researchers not older than 35 may be nominated.

The Swiss Society for Logic and Philosophy of Science appoints an award committee each year. The committee has full discretion to choose the award winner in accordance with the rules mentioned above. All its decisions are final.

The annual award winner will receive the Paul Bernays Award during a special event of the Swiss Society for Logic and Philosophy of Science. The award 2018 includes prize money of 1000 CHF.

The award committee 2018 consists of: Andrea Cantini (Florence), Reinhard Kahle (Lisboa), Giovanni Sommaruga (Zurich), and Thomas Studer (Bern). 

The recipient of the Paul Bernays Award 2018 is Dr. Filippo Cavallari for his PhD thesis Regular tree languages in the first two levels of the Borel hierarchy (supervisors: Prof. Jacques Duparc and Prof. Luca Motto Ros).

The winner of the 2017 Bernays award was Dr. Silvia Steila.
The winner of the 2016 Bernays award was Dr. Ioannis Kokkinis.
The winner of the 2015 Bernays award was Dr. Yann Pequignot.
The winner of the 2014 Bernays award was Dr. Raphael Carroy.
The winner of the 2013 Bernays award was Dr. Sebastian Eberhard.
The winner of the 2012 Bernays award was Dr. Johannes Stern.
The winner of the 2011 Bernays award was Dr. Alessandro Facchini.